Connect with Gale


Gale Anne Hurd, known as the "First Lady of Sci-Fi," is a producer of Academy Award-winning films and Emmy-winning programs that shatter box office and ratings records.

After climbing the ladder from executive assistant at Roger Corman’s New World Pictures to head marketing for the company, Hurd’s career as a Producer was launched when she produced and co-wrote The Terminator. The film received critical and commercial acclaim, including TIME Magazine’s “10 Best List”. It was recently recognized by the Library of Congress, which chose The Terminator to be included in its highly esteemed National Film Registry.

This success was quickly followed by Aliens, which received seven nominations and two Academy Awards, and the Academy Award winning films The Abyss, Terminator 2: Judgment Day, and The Ghost and the Darkness. Hurd’s additional feature credits include the Academy Award nominated Armageddon, The Incredible Hulk, Tremors, Dante’s Peak, ├ćon Flux, The Punisher, Dick, and The Waterdance, which won the Independent Spirit Award for Best First Feature, and both the Audience and Screenplay Awards at the Sundance Film Festival.


When Hurd decided to enter the television business, she did so with a bang as Executive Producer of The Walking Dead, which currently reigns as the most-watched scripted drama, beating all broadcast and cable series among adults 18-49. With 17.3 million viewers tuning in to the Season 5 premiere, the show will return for a sixth season. The American Film Institute honored the show in both 2010 and 2012 as a “Top 10” TV program. The series has also garnered two Emmy wins and was nominated by the Television Critics Association for “Program of the Year” in 2012. In 2014 The Walking Dead nabbed the People's Choice awards for “Favorite Cable TV Drama” and “Favorite TV Anti-Hero”. Hurd is also a Consulting Producer on AMC’s top-rated spinoff talk show, Talking Dead, which recently logged 5.9 million viewers, a new series high.


Hurd’s company, Valhalla Motion Pictures, has an overall deal with Universal Cable Productions to develop new television and digital programs. 1n 2015, Hurd will serve as an Executive Producer for AMC's exciting new television pilot, a companion series to the hit show The Walking Dead, as well as Hunters, a straight to series order based on the Whitley Strieber novel “Alien Hunter” for the SyFy network. Natalie Chaidez (In Plain Sight and Heroes) is attached as the Showrunner. In addition she is actively developing a number of standalone projects, including an adaptation of Annie Jacobsen’s non-fiction best seller Area 51: An Uncensored History of America’s Top Secret Military Base with Showrunner Chris Carter (X-Files).


Hurd’s film, Very Good Girls, a coming-of-age drama turned on its head, premiered as an official selection at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival. Starring rising young stars Dakota Fanning and Elizabeth Olsen, the film was released theatrically during the summer of 2014.


Hurd recently completed her term on the Board of Governors for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She currently serves on The Academy’s Science and Technology Council and is an officer of the Producers Guild of America, where she also co-founded their yearly ‘Produced By’ Conference.

Hurd’s distinguished career has drawn the attention of her peers, receiving both a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2012, as well as an induction into the International Women’s Forum Hall of Fame, which features such honorees as Rosa Parks, Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Audrey Hepburn. Hurd is also the recipient of the 2013 DiGamma Kappa Award for Distinguished Service in Broadcasting from Grady College at the University of Georgia, home of the Peabody Awards, and a 2013 Cartier Award at the Deauville American Film Festival, along with Cate Blanchett and Nicolas Cage. In 2015 Hurd will be honored with both the Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Camera Operators, and the prestigious David O. Selznick Award for Achievement in Motion Pictures by the Producers Guild, joining past recipients including Stanley Kramer, Clint Eastwood, Jerry Bruckheimer, Kathleen Kennedy, and Steven Spielberg.